Andrew Shorten is a Senior Lecturer in Political Theory, working mainly on topics in contemporary political theory, especially the challenges raised by pluralism and diversity for contemporary politics. He has written on toleration, religious accommodation, multiculturalism, nationalism, federalism, secession, and language policy, and is author of Multiculturalism: The Political Theory of Diversity Today (Polity, 2022), Contemporary Political Theory (Bloomsbury, 2016) and co-editor of Religion and Political Theory (Rowman and Littlefield, 2019). He was previously a postdoctoral fellow at University College London, held a visiting fellowship at the Institute of Philosophy (School of Advanced Studies, University of London) and was a visiting professor in the Institute of Philosophy at KU Leuven.


Research Profiles


Selected Publications

1. Shorten, A. (2022) Multiculturalism: The Political Theory of Diversity Today (Polity);

2. Shorten, A. (2022) ‘Immigration, Language and Disadvantage’, Nations and Nationalism, 28/2, 435-448;

3. Shorten, A. & Carey, B. (2022) ‘Justifying Language Policies’ in F. Grin, L. Maracz, N. Pokorn (eds.) Advances in Language Policy (John Benjamins), pp. 361-380;

4. Shorten, A. (2021) ‘Toleration and Religious Discrimination’ in M. Sardoc (ed.) The Palgrave Handbook of Toleration (Palgrave);

5. Shorten, A. & Seglow, J. (eds.) (2019) Religion and Political Theory: Secularism, Accommodation and The New Challenges of Religious Diversity (Rowman and Littlefield);

6. Shorten, A. (2019) ‘May Churches Discriminate?’ Journal of Applied Philosophy, 36/5, 709-717;

7. Shorten, A. (2018) ‘Justice in the Linguistic Environment’ in M. Gazzola, T. Templin & B-A Wickström (eds.) Language Policy and Linguistic Justice (Springer);

8. Shorten, A. (2017) ‘Four Conceptions of Linguistic Disadvantage’, Journal of Multilingual and Multicultural Development, 38/7, 607-621;

9. Shorten, A. (2017) ‘Accommodating Religious Institutions: Freedom vs. Domination?’ Ethnicities, 17/2, 242-258;

10. Shorten, A. (2016) Contemporary Political Theory (Bloomsbury)