Design at UL
Thursday, May 31, 2018

Top designs from University of Limerick’s graduating architecture and product design students have gone on public display in the FabLab in Limerick’s City Centre, as part of the Design@UL showcase 2018.

Exciting and creative problem solving is at the heart of this exhibition, which gives members of the public a chance to see the work of some of Ireland’s most talented young designers across a range of fields from technology to healthcare to the built environment. 

This year’s Design@UL show is the second showcase of undergraduate work under the new School of Design at UL. It demonstrates what can be achieved through interdisciplinary collaboration and offers a vision of change for design education and research in Ireland.

In addition the School of Design has had further notable successes in the applied and practice led design research this year.

UL and LSAD (Limerick School of Art & Design) will host the prestigious Design Research Society International Conference which will welcome more than 500 guests to Limerick from June 25 to 28.


The Design@UL Showcase was opened by Professor Edmond Magner, Dean Faculty of Science and Engineering on Tuesday, May 29. It is open from Tuesday to Saturday and will run in the FabLab on Rutland Street, Limerick City Centre until June 29.

The following prizes were also presented on the night:

SAUL Best Thesis Award 2018 winner
Fiona McLernon, Ennis, County Clare.

First year Student of the Year 2016/17 Presented by AutoDesk/Procad
Katie O’Donnell, Co. Waterford

Product Design Student Entrepreneur 2018 Presented by Enterprise Ireland
(First Place) Brú - Keith Finn (Portlaoise, Co. Laois), Áine Cronin (Crenagh, Co. Cork), Emma Dehane (Oldtown, Co. Dublin) and Pearse Coffey (Ballinasloe. Co. Galway).
(2nd) BuddyButton – Jamie Kett Russell (Newport, Co. Tipperary), Jason Gubbins (Bruff, Co. Limerick), Kevin Dunne (Limerick) & Meadhbh O’Leary Fitzpatrick (Killavullen, Co.Cork)

Best emergent product design 2018 Presented by Johnson & Johnson
Rebecca Mangan (Limerick).

Designer of the Year 2018 Presented by Logitech Ireland
(First place) Jordan Kelly (Dun Laoghaire)
(2nd) Ciaran Trotman (Castletroy, Limerick)
(3rd, joint) Rachel McNamara (Limerick) & Stephen Johnson (Monaleen, Co. Limerick)