Members of the ECSH work closely with civil society organisations, and have partnered on research projects and provided an evidence base to policy papers.

Dr Aoife Neary, for example, has worked closely with the Transgender Equality Network Ireland and LGBT Ireland (and previously, GLEN) on manifestations of homophobia and transphobia in schools, as well as the experiences of LGBTQ Teachers.

Dr Amanda Haynes and Dr Jennifer Schweppe work closely with a number of civil society organisations, and are the only academic members of the Coalition Against Hate Crime (Ireland). In this capacity, they most recently authored an Alternative Report on behalf of the Coalition and, along with Dr Sindy Joyce, presented their research findings to the UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination in December 2019.