Skip to main content

General Information

Honorary Degrees

University of Limerick honorary degrees are conferred on individuals who have shown outstanding achievement, nationally or internationally, in the arts, sciences, business, industry, the professions, sport, social service or public service.

The following honorary degrees are awarded:

  • Doctor of Economic Science (DEconSc) - honoris causa
  • Doctor of Engineering (DEng) - honoris causa
  • Doctor of Laws (LLD) - honoris causa
  • Doctor of Letters (DLitt) - honoris causa
  • Doctor of Science (DSc) - honoris causa

Nominations and Selection

Nominations for awards are sought and considered by the Joint Honorary Doctorate Committee from members of Governing Authority and Academic Council each calendar year. The Joint Honorary Doctorate Committee also considers nominations from the campus and the wider community. Nominations are ultimately approved by Academic Council and Governing Authority. 

Nominations for awards are made with respect to:

  • Academic distinction
  • Exceptional achievement and/or
  • Outstanding service to the university

The selection of candidates is made with due regard to the principles of social inclusion and gender balance and to achieving a balance between disciplines over a period of time.

For more detailed information, refer to the Policy for the Award of University of Limerick Honorary Doctorates document.

Order of Ceremony

  • Nominees, proposers and members of Governing Authority, Academic Council and staff are robed and form the academic procession.
  • The Vice President Academic Affairs and Student Engagement opens and closes the ceremony. 
  • The Chancellor initiates the proceedings with a welcome address.
  • Each nominee is usually introduced by a senior academic, whose address should not be longer than eight minutes.
  • The President confers the honorary degree by presenting a suitably inscribed parchment. 
  • Each recipient is invited to sign the "Roll of Honour", which includes a photograph of the recipient and a printed copy of the citation. The President and Chancellor also sign the Roll of Honour.
  • Recipients of honorary degrees are invited to future honorary doctorate conferring ceremonies and may be invited to deliver a public address at the university.