Tuesday, February 9, 2021

University of Limerick has joined a network of European universities focusing on research collaboration, it has been announced.

UL and the University of Rijeka (UNIRI) in Croatia have joined Young European Research University Network (YERUN), a cluster of highly-ranked young universities in Europe that strengthens and facilitates cooperation in the areas of scientific research, academic education and services which benefit society.

YERUN said it was delighted to announce that UL and UNIRI have officially become members of the cluster, which it said was a “joyful event that marks the beginning of an exciting new era” for the network, as part of its first enlargement process.

“We are delighted to be invited to join YERUN. YERUN is a dynamic, open and innovative network that aligns perfectly with the University of Limerick's philosophy and ethos. We are impressed by the breadth of their members’ joined up engagement across the academic spectrum and look forward to working with and learning from our YERUN partners,” said UL President Professor Kerstin Mey.

In offering a warm welcome to the universities, YERUN said UL and UNIRI would bring “new perspectives, inspiring practices and fresh energies” to the network, and said both institutions were a “natural fit by virtue of their values, ambitions and priorities, which perfectly match those identified by YERUN in its recently launched Strategic Plan 2021-2025”.

YERUN President Professor Bernd Scholz-Reiter said: “We are impressed by the level of excellence in education and research of UL and UNIRI, as well as by the great deal of attention both institutions dedicate to student support, engagement with society, lifelong learning, innovation, and many other areas that greatly resonate with YERUN and are perfectly in line with our new strategy.”

YERUN Secretary General Silvia Gomez Recio noted that both institutions were currently being led by women.

“I am very proud to see our network welcoming new young research universities. Both UL and UNIRI are led by strong women who share our vision and values for the European Knowledge Area. We wish to offer them a unique opportunity to build the future of Europe’s higher education with like-minded universities,” she explained.

Professor Snježana Prijić Samaržija, Rector of the University of Rijeka, said: “It is a true honour to have the opportunity to contribute to the realization of the vision, mission, and strategic goals of YERUN. As a YERUN member, through a partnership aiming to develop inclusive, innovative, connected, and open universities that truly work to transform the European higher education, we will do our best to contribute to the well-being of all citizens and the sustainable future of Europe.”

YERUN members consider that adequate support to human capital is essential to foster the next generations of (European) researchers and innovators. Strong support for excellent early-career researchers is therefore a priority for all YERUN members.

YERUN members: University of Antwerp, Autonomous University of Madrid, Bremen University, Brunel University London, University Carlos III Madrid, Dublin City University, University of Essex, University of Eastern Finland, University of Konstanz, University of Limerick, Maastricht University, University Nova de Lisboa, University Paris Dauphine, University of Rijeka, Tor Vergata University of Rome, Syddansk University, and Ulm University.

For more, see www.yerun.eu.