Skip to main content


The Department of Physics at the University of Limerick was established in 1994, and currently has some 38 academic, technical, research and administrative staff. Nanophysics, microscopy, medical physics and energy are its core research strengths. Its academic staff are members of the Bernal Institute which houses nationally unique scientific infrastructure for the characterisation of novel materials and components and comprises researchers from various scientific and engineering disciplines

The research within the Department includes a diverse mix of projects of both a fundamental and an applied nature.  Research within the department is a vibrant group of faculty and postgraduate students. In terms of research areas, one of the main strengths is in the area of physics condensed matter and its applications. A number of faculty members are founding members of the Materials and Surface Science institute (MSSI).  The principal interests and activities are in the areas of semiconductors, copper metallization, advanced nano materials, magnetics, and thin film science and technology. Other interests include complex systems, physics education, medical instrumentation and renewable energy sources.  The work is in this area is world class.

Funding is mostly derived from external sources including EU, SFI, Enterprise Ireland, HEA and industry collaboration.