Friday, June 17, 2022

When: August 24 to 26, 2022
Where: University of Limerick, Co. Limerick, Ireland

Societal challenges, such as Brexit and other major sociopolitical events, have the potential to divide society. This may threaten intergroup relations by highlighting boundaries between different groups and making group membership salient. This small group meeting aims to connect researchers from the social sciences on the effects of Brexit for intergroup relations within Northern Ireland and beyond. The goal of the meeting is to exchange, network, and foster collaboration. While focusing on the effects of Brexit on intergroup relations, we also welcome research that provides insights on how policy or political decisions can affect intergroup relations in societies with a history of intergroup conflict. Theoretical and empirical contributions are welcome.

The small group meeting takes place from August 24 to 26 at the University of Limerick, Ireland. The event is in-person. It is funded by the Irish Research Council in collaboration with the Shared Island initiative of the Department of the Taoiseach. This initiative aims to support research, networking and collaboration for the purpose of informing and supporting the implementation and development of the Shared Island initiative.

We now invite submissions for research talks (20 minutes plus 10 minutes discussion) during the meeting. Please submit an abstract (250 words) via email to with the subject “Abstract submission for Small Group Meeting”.
Abstract submission deadline: July 14
Fees: no conference fee applies
Accommodation: provided free of charge (two nights, B&B)
If you have any questions, you can contact Jenny Roth ( or Miriam Steinmann (

We would be very grateful if you could circulate the call widely to your colleagues. We very much look forward to seeing you at the meeting.

Jenny Roth

Miriam Steinmann

in collaboration with Jack Loughnane, Wijnand van Tilburg, Claire Campbell, Catriona Shelly, Melanie C. Steffens, Paula Devine, Orla Muldoon, The Irish Research Council, The Department of The Taoiseach