CS student of the year Sinead O'Brien
Chemical Sciences student of the year, Sinead O'Brien, with Chemical and Biochemical Engineering course director, Prof Witold Kwapinski.
Thursday, 7 September 2023

On Wednesday, August 30th, the Chemical Sciences Department at the University of Limerick conferred students from it's undergraduate and postgraduate programs. Afterwards, the Department held it's annual awards ceremony in the newly refurbished B3 lab. Graduates and their families enjoyed a nice welcome reception and got the chance to meet and greet many of the lecturers and technical officers who helped guide them through their studies.

The graduating PhDs and awards for top undergraduate students in our Department are as follows:

Graduating PhD students:

Dr Syed Abdul Ahad - "Silicon and Germanium Nanowire based Lithiophilic Current Collectors for Lithium Metal Batteries"; supervised by Professor Hugh Geaney and Professor Kevin Ryan

Dr Shasha Jin - "Crystal Engineering of Ionic Cocrystals Containing Phenols"; supervised by Professor Mike Zaworotko


Dr Nilotpal Kapuria - "Colloidal Synthesis and Growth Mechanism Study of Anisotropic Multicomponent Metal Chalcogenide Nanocrystals for Energy Applications"; supervised by Professor Kevin Ryan and Professor Shalini Singh


Dr Sumair Imtiaz - "Alloying-Type Anode Materials for Advanced Lithium and Potassium-Ion Batteries"; supervised by Professor Kevin Ryan and Professor Tadhg Kennedy 


Edward Storey Award for Overall Chemical Sciences Student of the Year - sponsored by Chemifloc

Sinead O'Brien, BEng Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, QCA 3.91


Best Research Project - sponsored by MSD

Michail Lambert and Martin Joseph Malone, BEng Chemical and Biochemical Engineering


Exceptional performance in BEng Chemical and Biochemical Engineering - sponsored by Lilly

Gavin Healy


Exceptional performance in BSc Industrial Biochemistry - sponsored by Serosep

Roisin Leamy and Phoebe Makim


Exceptional performance in BSc Pharmaceutical and Industrial Chemistry - sponsored by PBC Biomed

Meadhbh Coomey


Exceptional performance in BSc Environmental Science - sponsored by ESB Networks

Karla Burke


Exceptional performance in HDip Environmental Science - sponsored by ESB Networks

Miguel Macho Fernandez