Skip to main content


Department of Economics

The Department of Economics is one of four constituent Departments in the Kemmy Business School, University of Limerick. The current Economics team consists of twelve full time faculty (and three Teaching Assistants) with research interests including public policy evaluation, public sector economics, enterprise development and policy, European and international economics, industrial economics and policy, macroeconomics, the economics of higher education, and tourism economics.

The Department is home to two research Centres, the Euro-Asia Centre and the National Centre for Tourism Policy Studies, as well as the Privatisation and Public Private Partnerships (P4) Research Group.

In the 2016/17 academic year, the Department delivered approximately 50 economics modules on undergraduate, postgraduate, MBA, and executive programmes. Faculty in the Department of Economics are outstanding teachers and a number of faculty have been recipients of various university and national teaching awards. The Department, working in conjunction with the Graduate Centre of Business, offers a comprehensive MBS programme (by research) and a PhD programme. Since 2000, the Economics faculty have supervised over 30 PhD students to completion and another 15 are currently researching for their doctoral theses.

Professor Eoin Reeves
Head, Department of Economics