Post Graduation Event – Physics Department

On the 30th August 2023, the Department of Physics University of Limerick students graduated from the University of Limerick with Bachelor of Science in Applied Physics. After the ceremony at the University Concert Hall, the graduates and their families were invited to attend the “Post Graduation Event” held in the Physics Lab Space. The event provided a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere, allowing the students and their family meet and chat with the faculties of the department. A wonderful evening for everyone and to wish all of the graduates the very best of luck in the future.

Graduates Names: BSc in Applied Physics Erica Casey - Bradley Chapman - Jake Connolly - Rory Dempsey - Cillian Fahy - Michael Geoghegan - Robert Guest - Kellie Hanley O’Connell - Siobhan Hennessy - Niamh Hickey - David Kearney - James Madigan - James McFall - Sadhbh Ryan - Joshua Sage - Sally Talty-Farrell - Emily Timmins.

Research Degree: David Landers & Charlie O’Mahony

Maria Rybalchenko

Many  Congratulations to Maria Rybalchenko on the successful completion of her PhD viva voce on 7th September. Picture of Robert Lynch (Supervisor), Dr David Corcoran (Internal Examiner), Maria Rybalchenko, Prof. Noel Buckley, Prof. Petr Vanýsek (External Examiner) and Dr Ian Clancy (Chair) outside of Plassey House.

culture concert

Free Cultural Concert - Taste of Trad

A free lunchtime concert was held on 15th September by students of the Irish World Academy of Music & Dance for Culture Week 2023. The event was held at the UCH at lunchtime performance by students of the prestigious MA Irish Traditional Music Performance and Irish Traditional Dance Performance postgraduate courses. It was a great way to liven up the lunchtime with the midday taste of Trad on campus.


On 9th June 2023Shubham Vishnoi, doctoral candidate under the supervision of Prof Damien Thompson successfully defended his PhD thesis.

Massive congratulations, Shubham Vishnoi and we wish you the very best for your future endeavours from all of us in the Physics University of Limerick!

rob lynch

UL Innovation Awards - 12th October

Prof Tofail Syed was cordially invited to the 8th edition of University of Limerick Innovation Awards on Thursday 12th October at 12.45pm in the East Room, Plassey House. The President made the presentations to UL Inventors to recognise their efforts in obtaining granted patents in 2021 & 2022 for their research discoveries. Innovation Awards was also presented by the President to give special recognition to research and innovation activities that resulted in a notable commercial impact. 

Dr Robert Lynch, Senior Lecturer in the Department of Physics, received acknowledgement from the University on Thursday (12th of October) for two patents for two different inventions for which his group has successfully applied and being granted. Pictured in the image are Conor Morris (Technology Transfer Office, UL), Prof. Norelee Kennedy (Vice President Research), Robert Lynch and Prof. Shane Kilcommins (Provost and Deputy President).

open days

UL Open Days - 19th and 20th October

Two superb days at the Open Day for Physics. With everyone’s enthusiasm, it certainly gave the boost throughout the days. A superb job done by the student volunteers too, who were very informative in replying to the queries from potential students. A fantastic turnout for the Physics Talks too, very impressive, we certainly highlighted the Physics Programmes in every aspect throughout the day.

Day 1…

Day 2 -…

Sarah Markham

“Farewell” luncheon for our colleague, Dr Sarah Markham in November at The Pavillion UL.

We wish Sarah the very best from the Department of Physics University of Limerick!


Congratulations to Niamh Hickey, PhD student and Dr Shubham Vishnoi, postdoctoral researcher, from the Department of Physics University of Limerick who received a gold and a silver University of Limerick President's Volunteer Award today respectfully for volunteering in UL Student Life as their Faculty Officer and for volunteering with the SSPC and Bernal Institute respectively . Well done and congratulations to the over 150 students from the Faculty of Science and Engineering, University of Limerick who also received awards!


Department of Physics Strategy Meeting - 14th December 2023 – Castletroy Park Hotel

The Department of Physics University of Limerick had annual strategic meeting followed by a gala Christmas dinner at Castletroy Park Hotel on 14 December, ending with a lovely post dinner poetry recitation by Prof Noel Buckley, emeritus professor in the Department. The event was hosted by our Physics University of Limerick HoD, Prof Tofail. Syed with a welcome speech, and graced by the presence and speeches from Prof Kenneth Stanton Executive Dean, Faculty of Science and Engineering, University of Limerick, Emma Hofler FCA Finance Department, Aoife Gallagher, Chief Physicist UL Hospitals Group, and Michael Mitchell Trinity College Dublin. A helicopter view of marketing and communications, Athena Swan & Juno Awards, and SOPHia action plans for 2024 within the Physics University of Limerick was also provided by Dr Shayon Bhattacharya, Dr Deirdre Ní Eidhin and Dr Sarah Guerin. Enjoy few moments from the event!

noel buckley

Professor Noel Buckley recited Poetry for the Department of Physics.