This Bursary, available only to students of the BA European Studies at the University of Limerick, was set up to mark the special position this programme holds among the wide range of Arts and Humanities programmes now on offer at UL. The programme was among the first to be approved at the then National Institute of Higher Education founded in 1972 and expressed the European orientation of the new institution aimed to underpin Ireland’s entry to the European Union’s predecessor, the European Economic Community, on 1 January 1973. The BA European Studies is not only the longest established Humanities degree programme at the university, it is also among the longest established such programmes in Europe.      

The Bursary, named after one of the founding fathers of the European Union Jean Monnet (1888-1979), wishes to acknowledge and appreciate the high calibre of students entering the programme each year, and is awarded to the entrant into First Year of the BA European Studies with the highest CAO points score in the Leaving Certificate.

The Jean Monnet European Studies Entrance Bursary has been made possible by the generosity of Professor Edward Moxon-Browne, Emeritus Jean Monnet Professor of European Integration at the University of Limerick from 1992-2009 and Founding Director of CEUROS, the Centre for European Studies at the University of Limerick.

The Bursary will be awarded annually and only once in First Year. No formal application is necessary.

The value of the Bursary is €2,000.

Past winners of the Entrance Bursary

  • 2017, Tara Collins, BA 1st class Honours 2021
  • 2018, Mikey Moriarty, BA 1st class Honours 2022
  • 2019, Sarah Noonan
  • 2020, Laura Dwyer
  • 2021, Orlaith Curtin
  • 2022, Clara Lautwein