Skip to main content

Outstanding students honoured at KBS/Northern Trust Awards

Outstanding students honoured at KBS/Northern Trust Awards
Sun, 13 Mar 2016

High achieving University of Limerick business and management students, were this week honoured, with a KBS/Northern Trust Outstanding Scholar Award. This is the 12th year of the awards run by the KBS and recognises the most outstanding scholars in the School each year. 56 students were presented their award Certificates by Dr Philip O’Regan, Dean of the KBS and Clive Bellows, Ireland MD, Northern Trust at a ceremony which took place at the Kemmy Business School this week.

Dr Philip O’Regan, Dean of the Kemmy Business School, said at the event, "The KBS/ Northern Trust Outstanding Scholar Awards were created to acknowledge the highest standards of academic achievement across 37 different Certificate, Diploma, Degree, Graduate Diploma and Masters’ programmes offered by the School and to inspire all students to continue to strive for excellence. Today’s recipients are truly outstanding.”

Speaking from the event Clive Bellows, Ireland Country Head, Northern Trust said, “These 56 outstanding students here today are hugely deserving of this award. This occasion offers the due public recognition of their hard work, dedication and achievement. They will represent the business leaders of the future.”

The Louise Newman Memorial Prize was also presented at the ceremony by Ms Martina Healy, President, Insurance Institute of Ireland, Limerick Branch, and this year’s recipient is Mark O’Callaghan from Castlemahon, Co Limerick. This is a prestigious accolade given to the top University of Limerick insurance graduate each year. This prize was established in 2002 to mark the untimely passing of an outstanding business academic, Louise Newman and reflects her previous active association with the Insurance Institute of Ireland, who generously sponsored this annual prize. Louise lectured in the Risk Management and Insurance discipline, for the Kemmy Business School, from 1996 to 2001.