Dr. David Madden was born in Limerick, Ireland. In 2008, he received his B.Sc. in Environmental Science from the University of Limerick. In 2010, he received an M.Sc. in Environmental Engineering from Queens University Belfast where his research dissertation examined the use of porous materials for CO2 capture. In 2014 he completed his Ph.D. in Chemistry with Dr. Teresa Curtin at the University of Limerick, working on the use of amine modified materials for CO2 adsorption.

His expertise includes porous material synthesis and modification, mass spectrometry studies and thermal analysis. He is interested in material chemistry, crystal engineering, and gas sorption studies. As a postdoctoral fellow in Prof. Zaworotko’s group at the University of Limerick he worked on adsorption/desorption properties of MOMs using breakthrough and temperature-programmed desorption (TPD) studies.


  1. Bajpai, A.†, O’Nolan, D.†, Madden, D. G.†, Chen, K.-J., Pham, T., Kumar, A., Lusi, M., Perry, J. J. IV, Space, B., Zaworotko, M. J.,  “The effect of centred versus offset interpenetration on C2H2 sorption in hybrid ultramicroporous materials”, Chemical Communications2017. (Accepted Pending Revisions)
  2. Kumar, A.; Hua, C.; Madden, D. G.; O'Nolan, D.; Chen, K.-J.; Keane, L.-A.; Perry IV, J. J.; Zaworotko, M. J., “Hybrid ultramicroporous materials (HUMs) with enhanced stability and trace carbon capture performance”,Chemical Communications,2017, 53, 5946-5949.
  3. Scott, H. S.; Shivanna, M.; Bajpai, A.; Madden, D. G.; Chen, K.-J.; Pham, T.; Forrest, K. A.; Hogan, A.; Space, B.; Perry IV, J. J.; Zaworotko, M. J., “Highly Selective Separation of C2H2 from CO2 by a New Dichromate-Based Hybrid Ultramicroporous Material”, ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces,2017. (DOI: 10.1021/acsami.6b15250)
  4. Madden, D. G.; Scott, H. S.; Kumar, A.; Chen, K.-J.; Sanii, R.; Bajpai, A.; Lusi, M.; Curtin, T.; Perry IV, J. J.; Zaworotko, M. J., “Flue-gas and direct-air capture of CO2 by porous metal–organic materials”, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society A: Mathematical, Physical and Engineering Sciences,2017375 (2084).
  5. Scott, H. S.; Shivanna, M.; Bajpai, A.; Chen, K.-J.; Madden, D. G.; Perry IV, J. J.; Zaworotko, M. J., “Enhanced Stability toward Humidity in a Family of Hybrid Ultramicroporous Materials Incorporating Cr2O72– Pillars”, Crystal Growth & Design,201717 (4), 1933-1937.
  6. Madden, D. G.; Curtin, T., “Carbon dioxide capture with amino-functionalised zeolite-β: A temperature programmed desorption study under dry and humid conditions”, Microporous and Mesoporous Materials,2016228, 310-317.
  7. Scott, H. S.; Ogiwara, N.; Chen, K.-J.; Madden, D. G.; Pham, T.; Forrest, K.; Space, B.; Horike, S.; Perry IV, J. J.; Kitagawa, S.; Zaworotko, M. J., “Crystal engineering of a family of hybrid ultramicroporous materials based upon interpenetration and dichromate linkers”, Chemical Science,20167 (8), 5470-5476.
  8. Chen, K.-J.; Scott, H. S.; Madden, D. G.; Pham, T.; Kumar, A.; Bajpai, A.; Lusi, M.; Forrest, K. A.; Space, B.; Perry IV, J. J.; Zaworotko, M. J., “Benchmark C2H2/CO2 and CO2/C2H2 Separation by Two Closely Related Hybrid Ultramicroporous Materials”, Chem,20161 (5), 753-765.
  9. Chen, K.-J.; Madden, D. G.; Pham, T.; Forrest, K. A.; Kumar, A.; Yang, Q.-Y.; Xue, W.; Space, B.; Perry IV, J. J.; Zhang, J.-P.; Chen, X.-M.; Zaworotko, M. J., “Tuning Pore Size in Square-Lattice Coordination Networks for Size-Selective Sieving of CO2”, Angewandte Chemie International Edition,201655 (35), 10268-10272.
  10. Madden, D. G.; Hanrahan, J. P.; Tobin, J.; Curtin, T., “CO2 sorption performance by aminosilane functionalized spheres prepared via co‐condensation and post‐synthesis methods”, AIChE Journal201662, 2825–2832.
  11. Madden, D. G.†; Kumar, A.†; Lusi, M.; Chen, K.-J.; Daniels, E. A.; Curtin, T.; Perry IV, J. J.; Zaworotko, M. J., “Direct Air Capture of CO2 by Physisorbent Materials”, Angewandte Chemie International Edition,201554 (48), 14372-14377. (†: Co-first author)

B.Sc., University of Limerick, 2008 M.Sc., Queens University Belfast, 2010 Ph.D., University of Limerick, 2014