Professor Bernadette Whelan
Tuesday, January 10, 2023

Professor Emeritus Bernadette Whelan has been appointed to the prestigious Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations 's Robert H. Ferrell Book Prize Committee which recognizes the outstanding subsequent book in the field of foreign relations.


Robert H. Ferrell Book Prize

This prize is designed to reward distinguished scholarship in the history of American foreign relations, broadly defined. The prize of $1,000 is awarded annually. The Ferrell Prize was established to honor Robert H. Ferrell, professor of diplomatic history at Indiana University from 1953 to 1990, by his former students.

Eligibility: The Ferrell Prize recognizes any book beyond the first monograph by the author. To be considered, a book must deal with the history of American foreign relations, broadly defined. Biographies of statesmen and diplomats are eligible. General surveys, autobiographies, or editions of essays and documents are not eligible. Nominations for the 2023 prize must have been published in 2022.

Procedures: Books may be nominated by the author, the publisher, or any member of SHAFR. Three copies of the book must be submitted. The award is announced during the SHAFR annual conference.


Robert H. Ferrell Book Prize ( 


The Department of History Office is located in the Main Building in Room C1076

The Head of Department is Dr. David Fleming

Individual staff members can be contacted through the details on their profile pages in the staff section