Monday, May 15, 2017

The School of Law at University of Limerick was named the top law school in the country at the sixth annual AIB Private Banking Irish Law Awards held in Dublin at the weekend.

The AIB Private Banking Irish Law Awards set out to identify, commend and publicise excellence and outstanding achievements in Irish law and recognise exemplary practices of leading law firms and teams right throughout the country. The event welcomed attendees and nominees from all corners of the country representing the significant legal profession in Ireland.

RTÉ presenter Miriam O’Callaghan presented Professor Shane Kilcommins, head of the School of Law at UL, with the Law School of the Year Award at the ceremony on Friday night.

According to Professor Kilcommins, "The award is a real tribute to the commitment, dedication and talent of all the staff members in the school. Every colleague contributes  to the enhancement and development of the school, particularly through high impact research, excellent teaching, multi-faceted engagement with stakeholders, innovative curriculum development initiatives, and the development of exciting international links and exchanges. Our staff ensure that the school provides a rich learning environment for our students, making it a very special place to work and learn".

Image removed.

David McLaughlan, Head of AIB Private Banking, who sponsor the prestigious awards said, “Many of our valued customers are in a legal profession, so we are delighted to be associated with an event that recognises their excellence and continued dedication to Irish law. The awards received a 36% increase in entries this year – proof that the legal professional continues to grow and influence much of Irish society.”

Law Firm of the Year, sponsored by AIB Private Banking was awarded to Ronan Daly Jermyn, one of Ireland’s top ten law firms, with offices in Cork, Dublin, Galway and London.

The Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by the Institute of Legal Research & Standards was presented to The Hon. Mr Justice Ronan Keane, in recognition of his contribution to the legal profession in Ireland.

Tracey Carney, Event Director said, “In their sixth consecutive year, the AIB Private Banking Irish Law Awards are now renowned as a platform that brings together, acknowledges, and rewards significant legal talent under one roof. The event itself is a must-attend for everyone in the legal profession, and the cailibre of nominations are continuously growing in quantity and standard, making the panel’s judging process a very tough one!”