Skip to main content

UL Alumni honoured at annual awards

Sun, 12 Nov 2017
From left to right: David Jeffreys and John Savage, Co-Founders of Action Point Technology Group, Clodagh Cavanagh, Managing Director of agricultural manufacturer Abbey Machinery, Tim Kenny, co-founder of the St Baldrick’s Foundation
Sun, 12 Nov 2017

University of Limerick (UL) Alumni bestowed its highest honour on four outstanding graduates at the 12th Annual UL Alumni Awards Gala Dinner on Saturday, November 11.

Tipperary businesswoman Clodagh Cavanagh, Managing Director of agricultural manufacturer Abbey Machinery, was presented with an award for her contribution to business.

Receiving an award for his contribution to society was US-based Tim Kenny, originally from Kerry who co-founded the St Baldrick’s Foundation in support of childhood cancer research.

Limerick-based David Jeffreys and John Savage, co-founders of Action Point Technology Group, received a joint award for their contribution to entrepreneurship.

Speaking at the event, UL President Dr Des Fitzgerald said: “Tonight’s event is very much a celebration of the achievements and contributions of four amazing people. They are imbued with the UL spirit that we all aspire to and want to preserve and propagate. The achievements of these four alumni and their contributions to their communities are models that we believe are based on the foundations they received during their time at UL”.

This year’s celebration, sponsored by Bank of Ireland, took place at Limerick’s Castletroy Park Hotel, with UL alumna Juliette Gash, senior news correspondent with Today FM as Master of Ceremonies.

More than 250 guests from UL, businesses and the wider community attended this black-tie dinner, which was also supported by Analog Devices Ireland, GE Capital Aviation Services (GECAS), Ronan Daly Jermyn (RDJ) Solicitors and Stryker Ireland.

Since its inception in 2006, 40 UL alumni have now been honoured, including rugby legend Tony Ward, composer Patrick Cassidy, CEO & President (EMEA) of Kerry Ingredients Eoin O’Connell, former Riverdance star Jean Butler, former Chief Executive of the Kentz Corporation Dr Hugh O’Donnell, acclaimed Irish artist Alice Maher, Boeing Commercial Engineer of the Year Dr Pio Fitzgerald, former All-Ireland Kerry Footballer Pat Spillane, entrepreneur & CEO of Dairymaster Dr Edmond Harty, former Minister for the Diaspora Jimmy Deenihan, former Chief of Staff of the Irish Defence Forces, the late Lt. Gen. Dermot Earley and award-winning former Cork Camogie Captain and TV personality Anna Geary.