slide left
to the University of Limerick
Graduate Entry Medical School

University Hospital Limerick


University Hospital Limerick plays the central role among the six UL Hospitals in the Midwest region. As a model 4 hospital  it provides the critical care services, the 24/7/365 Emergency Department (ED) and is a designated centre for cancer, trauma and vascular surgery. The bed complement in UHL is approximately 438 inpatient, 48 psychiatry and 76 day spaces and all emergency, paediatric and complex surgeries are only undertaken at UHL. The hospital is the central hub for the five associated hospitals in the region. Ennis Hospital, Nenagh Hospital and St John’s Hospital are integral parts of the network that treat patients in accordance their model status. While they do not have an ED, each has a medical assessment unit, a local injuries unit, a very active day surgery unit and medical in-patient beds for selected medical patients.

UHL is situated in the Limerick suburb of Dooradoyle is now the biggest public building site in Munster if not the whole of the country. Major capital developments are in train including the construction of a new Emergency Department, specialist in patient/outpatient block including Cystic Fibrosis, Stroke, Dermatology, Neurology and Symptomatic Breast Disease, new ward block, new school for the paediatric department, completion of a new Critical Care Block, Dialysis Unit and a Clinical Education and Research facility in conjunction with the University of Limerick. A medium term plan is to relocate the University Maternity Hospital to the Dooradoyle campus.

UHL is the largest clinical placement site for medical school training and is affiliated to the University of Limerick.  The faculty and staff to provide support for the students on Clinical Placements in UHL are located in temporary accommodation across the road for the hospital in the Clinical Academic Liaison Building.  The building is located beside O’Malley’s Pharmacy.  For more information please see the Clinical Academic Liaison Faculty and Support Staff.