Each year the Graduate Entry Medical School’s Education Committee seeks to recognize excellence in its teachers though it Teaching Excellence Awards. These are student nominated awards with GEMS students being invited to propose nominees from amongst their tutors, educational supervisors and clinical teachers. Criteria considered when making nominations include enthusiasm and commitment for teaching & learning, ability to engage and motivate, approachability, efficiency. 


Congratulations to this year’s winners of the GEMS Teaching Excellence Awards!

Teaching Excellence Awards 2017


Photo L-R: Prof Michael Larvin, Head of GEMS; NCHD Teaching Excellence Award – Dr Alice Brennan; GP Tutor Teaching Excellence Award – Dr Betty Hyde; Year 1 & 2 Teaching Excellence Award – Dr Áine Ni Riain; Year 3 & 4 Teaching Excellence Award – Dr Leon Walsh; Prof Deirdre McGrath, Director of Education