slide left
to the University of Limerick
Graduate Entry Medical School

GEMS Teaching Excellence Awards

Each year the Graduate Entry Medical School’s Education Committee seeks to recognize excellence in its teachers though it Teaching Excellence Awards. These are student nominated awards (ratified by the School’s Education Committee) with GEMS students being invited to propose nominees from amongst their tutors and educational supervisors. Criteria considered when making nominations include enthusiasm and commitment for teaching & learning, ability to engage and motivate, approachability, efficiency. 

Teaching Excellence Awards 2017


Photo L-R: NCHD Teaching Excellence Award – Dr Alice Brennan, GP Tutor Teaching Excellence Award – Dr Betty Hyde, Year 1 & 2 Teaching Excellence Award – Dr Áine Ni Riain and Year 3 & 4 Teaching Excellence Award – Dr Leon Walsh


Please note that Faculty members i.e. those holding permanent pensionable contracts with the University of Limerick are not eligible for the teaching awards. PBL, clinical skills, anatomical skills and clinical tutors as well as clinical supervisors (GP and Hospital Consultant) are eligible.

All teaching staff are eligible to apply or be nominated for the University’s Teaching Excellence awards which is administered by the Centre for Teaching & Learning – click on link below