Skip to main content

Staff appointments to the Royal Irish Academy Committees

Mon, 09 May 2022

Congratulations to our colleagues Prof Michael J Griffin (EIC), Prof Jan Plamper (History), Pro Ciara Breathnach (History), Dr Catherine Porter (Geography), Dr Sorcha de Brún (Gaeilge), Dr Laura Cahillane (Law), Dr Gordon Ó’Riain (Gaeilge) and Dr Richard Kirwan (History), who have all been appointed to various Royal Irish Academy Committees. 

Prof Griffin has been appointed to the Study of Languages, Literature, Culture and Communication Multidisciplinary Committee. Dr Cahillane has been appointed to the Ethical, Political, Legal and Philosophical Studies Multidisciplinary Committee;  Dr de Brún and Dr Ó Riain have been selected as members of the Royal Irish Academy's Coiste Léann na Gaeilge, Litríocht na Gaeilge agus na gCultúr Ceilteach, Prof Plamper, Prof Breathnach and Dr Porter were appointed to the Historical Studies Multidisciplinary Committee and Dr Kirwan was also appointed to the Historical Studies Multidisciplinary Committee for a second term.   

The mission of the Royal Irish Academy’s multidisciplinary committees is to promote co-operation across and within relevant scholarly disciplines; to advise, contribute to and guide Academy’s engagement in these areas and on issues of topical interest, on an all-island basis. The committees exist to provide expertise and to promote the value of the sciences, humanities and social sciences. I am really delighted to see the scholarship and work of staff acknowledged in this way. They will be excellent ambassadors for their disciplines, and for the Faculty and UL.

RIA Logo