Historic agreement signed with Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), New Delhi

08 March 2018

The Faculty of Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences at UL has signed an historic agreement of cooperation with the Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) New Delhi, one of India’s foremost research universities in the presence of Minister Mary Mitchell–O’Connor, His Excellency The Irish Ambassador to India, Dr Brian McElduff. Professor Anthony McElligott flew to New Delhi to sign the Agreement on behalf of the Dean, FAHSS, Professor Helen Kelly-Holmes. The Vice Chancellor of JNU, Professor Mamidala Jagadesh Kumar, signed on behalf of his university. The ceremony was attended by senior staff from the Department of Foreign Affairs, Enterprise Ireland, Educate Ireland, and members of UL’s International Office. The signing was the fruit of an earlier delegation from FAHSS to JNU in November 2017. Dr Ciara Breathnach, Dr Mairead Moriarty, Professor Shane Kilcommins and Professor Anthony McElligott had travelled to JNU to take part in the inaugural symposium of the newly founded All-India Irish Studies Institute, led by Dr Jyoti Atwal and supported by Ambassador McElduff and a generous grant from the DFA. The two history departments of UL and JNU had already exchanged teaching staff, and this initiative, led by Ciara Breathnach and Jyoti Atwal had formed the basis for the current agreement at Faculty level. Dr Atwal was appointed Adjunct Professor in History, UL, for five years in 2017. The agreement is a stepping stone towards a Memorandum of Understanding between the two institutions. Like UL, JNU is a young institution, founded in 1976 and is today ranked at 11th place in India, 96th Asia University Rankings 2015 and 71 st BRICS & Emerging Economies Rankings 2015 (UL was ranked in the 101-150th Young University Rankings 2017 and in the 501–600th World University Rankings 2018). The collaboration with JNU is based on genuine scholarly common themes and will both broaden and deepen UL’s connectivity in the coming years. [Photograph: Minister Mary Mitchell-O’Connor with Professor Anthony McElligott and Professor Kumar at the signing of the Agreement of Coooperation. HE Ambassador McElduff is 5th from left, and Dr Jyoti Atwal is 2nd from right.]