30 Jan 2017

On 27 January 2000, the 55th anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz by Soviet troops, Ireland joined with 45 other countries in signing the Stockholm Declaration on the Holocaust. Since then on each Sunday either on or closest to that date, countries around the world of held national commemoration acts condemning the Nazi genocide of European Jewry, and also condemning other acts of racial hatred. Holocaust awareness in Ireland based on sound knowledge is among the lowest in Europe, and yet the genocide of European Jewry in the last century was also planned for Ireland’s circa 4,000 (1933) Irish men, women and children who were of Jewish heritage. There are today, just three survivors from this dark period, but their children and grandchildren continue to bear witness on their behalf. In order to raise greater awareness, the Holocaust Education Trust Ireland was founded with former minister of education Ruairi Quin as its first chairman. The Trust, supported by the Irish government, plays a key role in the annual commemoration. This year Professor Anthony McElligott, History Department at UL, was again invited to give one of the readings together with (among others) Iar Uachtarain, Mary McAleese, former president of Ireland, Paschal Donohoe TD, Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform, HE Ze’ev Boker, Ambassador of Israel, and Nick Henderson, CEO Irish Refugee Council. And Helen Marks, Dublin Jewish Progressive Congregation.

25 Jan 2017

The Departments of History UL and MIC publish their Limerick History Research Seminar Series for Spring 2016-17. See all the details below here.

19 Jan 2017

Congratulations to our new History PhD Graduands Dr Jeffrey Leddin, Dr Anne Marie O'Brien Graham and Dr Catriona Delaney pictured with Professor Bernadette Whelan.

16 Jan 2017
Congratulations to Dr Alistair Malcolm on the recent publication of his book 'Royal Favouritism and the Governing Elite of the Spanish Monarchy, 1640–1665' (Oxford University Press, 2017).
13 Dec 2016
Professor Anthony McElligott, Head of Department receiving Public Sector Award for Education and Research 2016 with Professor Eoin Devereux, Assistant Dean, Research, Faculty of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences, and Dr Karol Mullaney-Dignam, Department of History.