Monday 26th March 2012

Minister for Health James Reilly has appointed an architect, two planners, a number of senior doctors and a British hospital executive to the group examining the decision to refuse planning permission for the new national children’s hospital.

The group, which is to be chaired by former HSE chairman Frank Dolphin has been asked to report back within 56 days.

Thursday 08th March 2012

The University of Limerick, welcomes the appointment of Anne MacFarlane as Professor of Primary Healthcare (Research) at the Graduate Entry Medical School (GEMS). Professor MacFarlane is the first social scientist to hold a Chair in academic primary care in Ireland and the first woman Professor in this discipline in Ireland.

Monday 05th March 2012

Professor Calvin Coffey (Chair of Surgery, Graduate Entry Medical School, University of Limerick and Consultant General & Colorectal Surgeon, Limerick University Hospital) has been selected to receive a James IV Fellowship from the James IV Association of Surgeons ( ). This Fellowship is awarded to candidates who have made outstanding contributions to the art and science of surgery.