€100,000 in Scholarships Awarded to UL Students

Last academic year UL presented almost €100,000 worth of scholarships to its first year students in recognition of their achievements at Leaving Certificate. UL awarded 49 first year students €2,000 entrance scholarships for the fourth year running. The entrance scholarships were established in 2012 as the University celebrated its 40th Anniversary. Awardees were joined at a special presentation ceremony in UL by their parents and former school principals. The scholarships were on offer across all disciplines including  Science and Engineering, Kemmy Business School, Education and Health Sciences, and Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences.  There were also two scholarships for the Irish World Academy of Music and Dance and two scholarships for Inter-faculty programmes such as BA Law and Accounting and BA International Insurance and European Studies.  

In addition ten scholarships were awarded to incoming mature students and five Women in Engineering Awards were also presented to top scoring female applicants to programmes in the Faculty of Science and Engineering.

The following annual Scholarships were also presented on the day:

University Mature Student Scholarship, sponsored by the University Club, was awarded to two students this year Michael Boland and Anthony Cogan.

The Microsemi Scholarship was awarded to Wiktoria Malicka. Established in 2012/2013 by semiconductor developer, Microsemi Ireland, the scholarship supports excellence in engineering at UL and provides €50,000 in funding to the University of Limerick Foundation to help support excellence in engineering at UL. The company, which has been based in Ennis, Co. Clare for 20 years, is the largest employer in the town with over 300 staff.

The Stryker Scholarship, sponsored by Stryker Medical, was awarded to three recipients this year Jenna Bromell, Co Limerick, Eoin O’Brien, Co Limerick and Mary Quill, Co Cork on the basis of their performance in the Leaving Certificate.

The Edith and Leslie Downer Scholarship, established in the memory of the parents of UL President Emeritus, Professor Roger Downer, was awarded to Chloe O'Connell, Co Limerick.

The Elaine Fagan Scholarship was awarded to Aaron Mullane from Limerick.  The Elaine Fagan scholarship is sponsored by the Fagan family in memory of their daughter Elaine who died at the age of 25 but whose life inspired and touched those who knew and loved her. The scholarship is open to first year undergraduate students from the MidWest region who enter college through the DARE (Disability Access Route to Education) process.

The Paddy Dooley Scholarship, in honour of Olympic Rower Paddy Dooley, was awarded to Alan Murtagh, Co Galway. The scholarship, valued at €2,500 is awarded on the basis of rowing prowess and academic achievement. The Paddy Dooley Rowing Scholarship was established by the Dooley family from Limerick in honour of their father who captained the Irish Olympic eight in the 1948 Olympic Games in London.

Engineering Firm Arup Fund New Scholarship and Award Programme

Engineering firm, Arup, has generously agreed to fund a new scholarship and awards programme in the Faculty of Science and Engineering at UL.

The initiative sees the establishment of the Arup Scholarship for Women in Engineering and the Arup Integrated Design Project Awards in Civil Engineering. Eoghan Lynch, Director, Arup said: “Arup is delighted to sponsor this new scholarship and award programme at UL.  Arup has a long established commitment to diversity and encouraging more females to study engineering and STEM subjects generally. Supporting further education is hugely important to us as a firm. ”

The Scholarship will award an amount of €5,000 to the female first year student with the highest Leaving Certificate points who is registered in the Bachelor of Engineering in Civil Engineering and is a very positive development in cementing the University’s commitment to advancing gender equality. In addition, four Awards valued at €1,500 each will be made to third year students in the Civil Engineering programme who undertake an “Integrated Design Project”. 

These include:

- Best Engineering Design  (Group Award)

- Best Engineering Designer

- Sustainable Project Award

- Outstanding Collaboration Award

UL President’s Access Scholars Awards

At a special ceremony in the University of Limerick UL President Professor Don Barry awarded six of UL’s brightest students an Access Scholarship Award.  The awards were first launched in 2011 under the President’s patronage to acknowledge the highest standards of academic achievement and to inspire all students to continue to strive for excellence. The programme receives funding through the UL Foundation with support from private and corporate donors, including the University Club and Aramark.  The awards include six scholarships of €2,500 each and were presented to Access students who achieved the highest annual QCA for the academic year 2014/15.  

This year’s recipients of the President’s Access Scholars Awards are:

- Jhabi Kharel a 4th year Bachelor of Engineering in Biomedical    Engineering student from Limerick. 

- Paula O’Donnell a 4th year Bachelor of Science (Education) in    Biological Sciences student from Co Donegal. - Brian O’Mahony a 3rd year Bachelor of Engineering in Mechanical    Engineering student from Co Cork.

- Paige Kemp a 3rd year Bachelor of Arts in New Media and English  student from Co Kerry.

- Joseph Greaney a 2nd year Bachelor of Science in Computer Games   Development student from Co Kerry.

- Anthony Kavanagh a 2nd year Bachelor of Science in Technology    Management student from Co Mayo.

Leave a comment