UL becomes first Irish university to become a member of the National Academy of Inventors

The University of Limerick became the first Irish university to become a member of the prestigious National Academy of Inventors (NAI). The National Academy of Inventors comprises of US and international universities, governmental and non-profit research institutions and has over 3,000 inventor members and Fellows spanning 200 institutions. Among the members are Nobel Laureates and world top 5 ranked universities including Harvard, Yale and MIT.

Vice President Research, Dr Mary Shire, who was also inducted as a fellow of the NAI, welcomed the announcement: “UL has always had a reputation of translational research, making an impact for industry, society and the world at large. We excel in building effective partnerships which deliver and our success in spin-out and commercialisation activity is evident. Our induction to the National Academy of Inventors is an important step in our strategy to strengthen the impact of our research at a national and international level and raise global awareness of UL and Limerick as a hub for innovation and R&D”

UL has a reputation for commercialisation success, with 172 new invention disclosures, 71 patent applications and 10 campus companies in the past 7 years. Being the first Irish University to become a member of the National Academy of Inventors endorses this reputation with our peers across the world.

Dr Shire added: “Here at UL we talk about knowledge with impact, this aligns well with the strategies at a National and European level specifically Horizon 2020 – the €80 billion European funding programme for research and innovation. Our focus is on supporting world-class researchers whose work tackles societal challenges and invokes industrial leadership.”

Speaking at the NAI awards ceremony; Richard Maulsby, Innovation Development Specialist with the United States Patent and Trademark Office said; “With the induction of this class, there are now 244 NAI Fellows worldwide, representing 121 universities and non-profit research institutes. Included in the class are 26 presidents and senior leadership of research universities and non-profit research institutes, 69 members of the National Academies (NAS, NAE, IOM), five inductees of the National Inventors Hall of Fame, six recipients of the U.S. National Medal of Technology and Innovation, two recipients of the U.S. National Medal of Science, nine Nobel Laureates, five Lemelson-MIT prize recipients, and 23 AAAS Fellows, among other awards and distinctions.”