Kathleen Turner awarded Jerome Hynes Fellowship

Kathleen Turner, Irish World Academy of Music and Dance, University of Limerick

The Arts Council of Ireland has announced that Kathleen Turner, faculty member of the Irish World Academy of Music and Dance, University of Limerick, is the recipient of the 2017/2018 Jerome Hynes Fellowship – offered through the UK-based Clore Leadership programme. This programme aims to develop the knowledge, skills and experience of potential leaders in the arts, across a wide range of cultural activity.
Kathleen Turner is the Course Director of the MA Community Music at the Irish World Academy of Music and Dance, University of Limerick. Speaking about the award, Kathleen said: “I am so excited and grateful to be part of this year’s Clore Fellowship programme with the support of the Arts Council. This is an extraordinary opportunity to gain in experience and develop new skills that I can share with my community of practice in Limerick City, the University of Limerick and further afield on my return. I am very much looking forward to working with the other Clore14 fellows in what promises to be a wonderful year.”
Orlaith McBride, Director of the Arts Council, said: “The Arts Council is delighted to welcome Kathleen Turner as the 2017/18 Jerome Hynes Fellow. We value this relationship with the Clore Duffield Foundation. Through the fellowship programme we are helping to support a new generation of arts leaders who will bring their skills, passion and commitment to the development of the arts in Ireland.”
Dr Sandra Joyce, Director of the Irish World Academy, said: “As Director of the Irish World Academy, I am absolutely delighted that Dr Kathleen Turner has been awarded a Clore Fellowship. This award brings great prestige to the University of Limerick and will undoubtedly yield many benefits to Kathleen and to the many groups she interacts with as a community musician and a researcher.
Ms Turner will take part in a year-long programme commencing in September. The programme includes: two intensive residential leadership courses; professional development through mentoring, tuition and group learning; an in-depth research project, supervised by a Higher Education Institute; and a period of secondment, including experience of managing a challenging project.
Previous recipients of this fellowship are: Dylan Haskins, Mags Walsh,  Joe Mangan, Willie White, Sharon Murphy, Fiona Kearney and Fearghus Ó Conchúir.