Skip to main content

The Magic Flute

Date: Sunday, May 19, 2019
Time: 20:00 to 23:00
Duration: 3 hours
Contact: Charlotte Eglington -
Location: University Concert Hall, Limerick, Ireland

Irish Chamber Orchestra Irish National Opera Irish National Opera Chorus Mozart’s enchanting final opera. His most popular stage work. A timeless moral tale in a world of clashing cultures.

Trials of courage and love. A journey that encounters serpents and magic interventions. The dark realm of the vocally virtuosic Queen of the Night struggles against the judgement and reason of Sarastro, the High Priest of Isis and Osiris. In between, a separated couple cope with rites and rituals, and Papageno, a humble birdcatcher, searches for a wife.

“with a voice as liquid and sparkling as the best champagne, this… Irish soprano showered us with vivid characterisations, kaleldoscopic hues and the brightest of coloratura flourishes.”  - The Times on Anna Devin

“Few things in theatre are more exciting than watching a star being born, and the big-bang roar that greeted Jennifer Davis’s curtain call after her debut as Lohengrin’s beloved Elsa was one such magic moment.” - The Daily Telegraph

“Gavan ring seized every opportunity to demonstrate the stylish vocal allure that has to underpin Giovanni’s sexual pulling power…” - Opera Magazine

Sung in German with English Subtitles

Creative team

Conductor [May 17, 19, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25] - Peter Whelan

Conductor [May 23 matinée, 25 matinée] - Sinead Hayes

Director - Caroline Staunton

Set & lighting designer - Ciaran Bagnall

Costume designer - Katie Davenport

Chorus director - Sinead Hayes

Assistant director-  Sarah Baxter


Pamina [May 17, 19, 21, 23 matinée, 24, 25] - Anna Devin

Pamina [May 22, 23, 25 matinée] - Jennifer Davis

Tamino [May 17, 19, 21, 23 matinée, 24, 25] - Nick Pritchard

Tamino [May 22, 23, 25 matinée] - Tyler Nelson

Papageno - Gavan Ring

Queen of the Night [May 17, 23 matinée, 24, 25] - Kim Sheehan

Queen of the Night [May 19, 21, 22, 23, 25 matinée] - Audrey Luna

Sarastro - Lukas Jakobski

First lady - Rachel Croash

Second lady - Sarah Richmond

Third lady - Raphaela Mangan

Monostatos - Andrew Gavin

Papagena - Amy Ní Fhearraigh

Speaker - Padraic Rowan

First armed man - Fearghal Curtis

Second armed man - Robert McAllister

First priest - Matthew Mannion

Second priest - Peter O’Reilly