About Us

Eolas faoin Dámh

There are six Departments within EHS Faculty including Department of Education and Professional Studies, Department of Physical Education and Sports Sciences, Department of Psychology, Department of Nursing and Midwifery, Department of Clinical Therapies and the Graduate Entry Medical School.

EHS offers 14 full-time undergraduate programmes (some with colleagues in Science and Engineering and Humanilities and Social Sciences) and 25 taught masters and/or graduate diploma programmes (some with colleagues in other Faculties mentioned above and/or partner agencies). We have over 2000 undergraduate students and over 500 part-time and full-time postgraduate students.

Faculty Structure

The Faculty of Education and Health Sciences have five departments and a school. The Graduate Entry Medical School and the Department of Psychology are the newest units on campus. The Clinical Therapy Department contains Speech and Language Therapy, Occupational Therapy and Physiotherapy. The Department of Nursing and Midwifery was established part of a nationwide shift to provide professional university education for nurses instead of the apprenticeship training models in hospitals favoured by the former Health Boards.

The Faculty of EHS is also home to two of the oldest academic departments on campus. The Department of Education and Professional Studies (EPS) was originally part of Thomond College of Education. The Department of Physical Education and Sport Sciences (PESS) was created initially as the National College of Physical Education in 1973 and by 1976 had amalgamated with Thomond College of Education. Five of the current EHS departments were part of the former College of Science (PESS, the three Clinical Therapies, and Nursing & Midwifery), one department (EPS) was part of the former College of Education, and the two newest units (Medicine and Psychology) had no college affiliation prior to the current university reconfiguration.


From Twitter