Department of Economics

The Department of Economics is one of four constituent Departments in the Kemmy Business School, University of Limerick. The current Economics team consists of twelve full time faculty (and three Teaching Assistants) with research interests including enterprise development and policy, European and international economics, industrial economics and policy, monetary economics, public sector economics, public policy evaluation and tourism economics.

The Department is home to two research Centres, the Euro-Asia Centre and the National Centre for Tourism Policy Studies, as well as the Privatisation and Public Private Partnerships (P4) Research Group.

In the 2014/15 academic year, the Department delivered over 50 economics modules on undergraduate, postgraduate, MBA, and executive programmes. Faculty in the Department of Economics are outstanding teachers and a number of faculty have been recipients of the Excellence in Teaching Award and are alumni of the International Teachers Programme (ITP). The Department, working in conjunction with the Graduate Centre of Business, offers a comprehensive MBS programme (by research) and a PhD programme. Since 2000, the Economics faculty have supervised over 30 PhD students to completion and another 15 are currently researching for their doctoral theses.

Prof. Jim Deegan
Head, Department of Economics